GM/CA @ APS users Brian Kobilka and Robert Lefkowitz won the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.                                                                                                    <a href='/news/nobelprize2012.html'>Read more...</a> A highly conserved cryptic epitope in the receptor-binding domains of SARS-CoV-2 and SARS-CoV. Ian Wilson group (Scripps Research Institute) and collaborators                                 <a href='/news/2020/IWilson_2020.html'>Read more...</a> Box mini-beam collimator for user-friendly one-click selection of beam size and improved sample visualization.                                                                                 <a href='/facilities/minibeam.html'>Read more...</a> Aiming for pan-Lassa virus neutralization. Erica Saphire group (La Jolla Institute for Immunology).                                                                                            <a href='/news/2019/ESaphire_2019.html'>Read more...</a> How Fungi Produce Compounds with Potential Pharmaceutical Applications. Janet Smith group (University of Michigan Life Sciences Institute) and collaborators.                                  <a href='' target='_blank'>Read more...</a> Versatile, fast, high capacity (18 puck) automounter, based on the Berkeley Automounter (BAM), is implemented on both GM/CA ID beamlines.                                                      <a href='/facilities/automounter.html'>Read more...</a> Structurally distinct active conformations within a GPCR. Matt Whorton group (Oregon Health & Science University).                                                                             <a href='/news/2019/MWhorton_2019.html'>Read more...</a> Activation of metabotropic glutamate receptors. Brian Kobilka and George Skiniotis groups (Stanford University) and collaborators.                                                             <a href='/news/2019/BKobilka_2019.html'>Read more...</a> Polygon diffraction rastering with JBluIce.                                                                                                                                                    <a href='/computing/jbluice-epics.html'>Read more...</a> Antitumor activity of multispecific frizzled antibodies. Jean-Philippe Julien group (Hospital for Sick Children Research Institute; University of Toronto) and collaborators.                  <a href='/news/2019/JJulien_2019.html'>Read more...</a> Topological control of cytokine receptor signaling. Chris Garcia group (Stanford University), David Baker group (University of Washington), and Vijay Sankaran group (Harvard Medical School). <a href='/news/2019/KGarcia_2019.html'>Read more...</a> Staff displaying the first diffraction pattern with Pilatus3 6M (January, 2014). GM/CA beamlines are equipped with Dectris Eiger-16M and Pilatus3-6M detectors.                                <a href='/facilities/specifications.html'>Read more...</a> Structural basis for adhesion G protein-coupled receptor Gpr126 function. Demet Araç group (University of Chicago) and collaborators.                                                     <a href='/news/2020/DArac_2020.html'>Read more...</a> Structurally distinct active conformations within a GPCR. Robert Lefkowitz group (Duke University) and Andrew Kruse group (Harvard Medical School).                                            <a href='/news/2020/AKruse_2020_1.html'>Read more...</a> GM/CA Serial crystallography: using Mylar in situ sandwich plates and 3D-printed holders for room temperature and cryogenic data collection of soluble and membrane protein crystals.          <a href='' target='_blank'>Read more...</a>


The National Institute of General Medical Sciences and National Cancer Institute Structural Biology Facility at the Advanced Photon Source operates a national user facility for structural biology with synchrotron beamlines specializing in intense, tunable micro-beams for crystallography.
What's New Featured Links Highlights
GM/CA looks forward to welcoming back users following the APS Upgrade. read more
Bob Fischetti is awarded as Argonne Distinguished Fellow.
read more
GM/CA @ APS Winter'23-24 Newsletter read more all Newsletters
GM/CA's user Timothy Springer shares 2022 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award. read more
Harry Noller wins the 2016 "Breakthrough Prize" in life sciences. read more
GM/CA @ APS contributed to the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. read more
Christopher G. Bon, Jason C. Grigg, Jaeyong Lee, Craig S. Robb, Nathanael A....
View recent user publications

GM/CA @ APS Sponsors: National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) and National Cancer Institute (NCI) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

  GM/CA @ APS is an Office of Science User Facility operated for the U.S. Department of Energy by Argonne National Laboratory

  UChicago Argonne LLC | Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | A-Z Index | Search